Skip to content

DVD Cover and Poster Design

May 11, 2012

Today I had the hard task of designing a DVD cover and posters to promote ‘LYCILY’. Coming up with design ideas and using photoshop; neither of which I am very good at. However after explaining what LYCILY is about to a course mate, Shaun, he suggested doing something based around photographs as memories. I liked this idea and together we developed it, he suggested having a photo frame, potentially smashed and putting a photograph of them together into it to signify her broken memories. After ‘googling’ photo frames I decided that a Polaroid picture frame would better suit the style of the documentary, my reasoning being that Polaroid’s fade, just like Brenda’s memories. Shaun helped me with the initial photoshop tasks however I quickly picked it up after he showed me the basics. After showing Shaun the finished basic design he said he really liked it however suggested adding noise to make the photograph on the front imperfect, just like Brenda’s memories. After completing the design I am more than happy with it and have also decided upon creating a series of posters based on the same design.

In order to create the DVD cover I used a template which gave me all the measurements to make sure everything fitted perfectly when inserted into the case. When I finished creating the DVD cover I transferred the basic design onto the posters and simply changed the photo layer and enlarged it to fit on A3 paper size. I am happy with the overall design and ecstatic with how quickly I was able to (collectively with Shaun) come up with the idea and create the DVD cover and posters.

Above: The DVD cover template I used

Above: DVD cover, a work in progress

Below are the finished DVD cover and poster designs. Personally I prefer the close up shot of the hands and the wedding day posters, however I feel the kiss shows that their love is still strong and they will never give up.

Above: The finished design for the DVD cover

Above: Poster 1 ( and my personal favourite)

Above: Poster 2 – Jack and Brenda on their wedding day

Above: Post 3 – Jack picks Brenda up from Alzheimer’s club , true love never dies

As I was creating more that one poster of the same design I created a photoshop template to make things easier and quicker for myself. Therefore all I would need to do is insert the new photo and rescale it.

Above: The photoshop template I created.

From → 361mc

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment